Berkshire's Sokol Resigns

Nothing like having first hand information on a company buyout, he made over 13 mil on the transaction. Maybe he didn't want to take over and make only 100k when Warren stepped down?

I saw him on TV this morning. He said he had no idea he could have been doing something wrong. Yeah right!

I saw this in the morning paper. Warren called it 'shabby' but not illegal. It will be interesting if more information surfaces.

First reports seem to indicate that Sokol is an [-]idiot[/-] alumnus of the Martha Stewart School of Special Entitlements.

Alice Schroeder in Business Week:
Buffett Misses Chance to Show Moral Courage: Alice Schroeder - Businessweek
Ravi's "Rational Walk" posts:
Sokol’s Resignation Raises Questions Regarding Lubrizol Transaction | The Rational Walk (chronology)
Sokol: My Mistake Was Suggesting Lubrizol to Buffett | The Rational Walk (Analysis & CNBC interview)

I dunno, I'm no expert at facial expressions & body language, but just the first 10 minutes of his CNBC talk makes me think he's lying his assets off. At the very least he has no idea what sort of public impression he's making on the CNBC anchors, let alone the viewers. Of course I hope I'm wrong and that this is just a triumph of obliviousness over judgment.

It's interesting that Sokol resigned (Via an assistant?!? What kind of protocol is that?!?) instead of Buffett telling the world that he asked for Sokol's resignation. I wonder if the board told Buffett that he really needed to get rid of Sokol, and that Sokol's resignation was more for the board's benefit than out of Sokol's feelings of regret or consideration for Buffett.