Estimated Tax - When do you usually make the fourth payment of the year?

Disappointed

Recycles dryer sheets
This is my first year of retirement and I am trying to figure out when and how much to pay on my fourth Federal and State taxes?

I think I have underpaid my Federal and California taxes so far.

Should I make another payment before the end of the year (instead of waiting till April 15th 2015)? I am trying to avoid the any penalty for under paying (withholding for those that are still working)

How close should/must I be in estimating my 2014 income? It is kind of hard to be precise in estimating dividend and capital gain before the end of the year.

Thanks,

mP

1st payment
April 15, 2014

2nd payment
June 16, 2014

3rd payment.
Sept. 15, 2014

4th payment
Jan. 15, 2015

So, you don't wait until April 15, 2015. That is when you make the first estimated payment for the next year.

First, you almost certainly have to make a payment by Jan 15. April 15 is when you can resolve small shortages, but it can't be much unless you owe a lot more in taxes in the current year than the previous year.

You can't just make up the shortage on the last payment. If you pay less than 1/4 of 90% of what you owe (or 100% of last year's tax, 110% for high earners) in the early quarters, you will get hit with an underpayment penalty and interest, unless you show income coming late in the year, or deductions early.

So if you make $100K this year, about $25K each quarter, and owe $12K in taxes, you need to have paid at least $2.7K (90% of $12K/4) each quarter.

But if you made $5K in the first three quarters and $85K in the 4th quarter, there is some form you fill out to show which quarter you received your income and paid your deductions that will allow you to pay less early and more later. You'd still need to make a big payment by Jan 15.

Fairmark is a great resource for tax questions. I've found it to be very accurate, and easy to follow.
Guide to Estimated Taxes