FIREcalc, multiple income streams, & "residuals

Cb

Recycles dryer sheets
Dory, I was looking over old posts at TMF and came upon a thread from the time that you were getting your thoughts together as to how one might consider out-year changes to income requirements like pensions & SSI. At that time you referred to it as "three buckets".  Here's a reply to you from Intercst from those days:

dory36 wrote:

I made a suggestion to RhythmMan and to Swooper in my message at http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?id=1380025001728003&sort=postdate , saying they could solve the problem of future pensions/SS by using two or more spreadsheets.

I started playing around with that idea for myself, and found a big bonus lurking in the details! I think this bonus will apply to many of us here, so bear with me for some details.

I figure I need three income streams.

The first is only for 10 years, until Social Security kicks in and replaces that stream. With my settings, I can achieve that safely with a whopping 8.5% withdrawal -- thus cutting in half the size of the portfolio I thought I needed for this income stream.

The second income stream is the amount I need to live on, above and beyond the amount that I'll receive from either SS or the first income stream. Standard 4% withdrawal rate, 40 years.

The third income stream is "play money". This stream lends itself to a variable withdrawal -- expensive play and international travel, for example, can follow good market years, and less costly play can follow the bad ones. Looking over the historical data in the spreadsheets, if I specify that withdrawals swing only between 3% and 10%, the long term average would be about 7% while remaining safe. Again, for planning purposes, the portfolio needed is only 60% of what I had been planning for.