good way to guesstimate taxes in retirement

bclover

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hello all,
I'm not retired yet but would like to in 2016, lol October to be exact. I'm filling out one of those on line budget worksheets and I'm trying to guesstimate how much I'll owe in taxes.

How did you figure out what your tax bill would be? should I just use where I'm at now?

Thanks,

Past tax years are a good guide/predictor. Also Taxcaster is a good free tool to do "what if" scenarios.

You need to know where your taxable income is coming from. Will it be from selling part of an IRA? Or is it pension income, and how much of that will be taxable? Or will you be living off investments, a large chunk of which may be subject to capital gains tax rather than ordinary income tax like the first two.

I just used a spreadsheet but since I am a tax accountant, that might be easier for me than for others :). Your taxes will likely be much lower in retirement than they are now so you should definitely not just use your current numbers.

I just plug(ged) my anticipated income and distributions into Turbo Tax.

Should be simple. Look at last years income tax return.

Delete last years "earned income", since you are retired.

Add any "new" income, ie. IRA withdrawals, social security etc.

The "taxable Income" figure should give you good estimate, to figure out
your income taxes.:greetings10:

How did you figure out what your tax bill would be? should I just use where I'm at now?
I suspect you do not fill out your own tax return because you asked this question.

Basically, it looks like many responders just fill out a tax return in order to figure out their tax bill. I used TurboTax which also helps with routine tax planning. This year, I got $50 free to spend at Amazon from the TurboTax folks, so I made money using TurboTax.

I use TurboTax in other ways even before filing a tax return in order to reduce my taxes:
1. How much bunching of deductions to do.