How often do you calculate your net worth?

David1961

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Excluding real estate, how often do you track your net worth? Includes all investments, stocks, funds, bonds, bank accounts, etc. I formally track mine every three months, but I do check on some values more often.

I use Quicken to track my investments and download quotes daily. Since Quicken automatically updates my net worth every time I download quotes, it would technically make it daily for me!:p

On my net worth tracking spreadsheet, however, I calculate my net worth once a month, on the 15th (I have been doing that for almost 12 years now).

I print my statements monthly and keep them in a three ring binder. The cover sheet is a consolidated worksheet that show net worth.

I visit Mint.com a couple of times a week and it is automatically calculated for me.

If I'm doing everything right, Quicken thinks my net worth is $0. That's because I use a double-entry method that balances all assets with a budget "liability", even if that's just retirement savings. I can generate a net worth report. I usually look at it if I think it might be at a new high or low. Maybe once a year to once a quarter.

Monthly, been doing it for about 20 years. I think it contributed greatly to my ER. I had figured what I needed to retire and calculating in monthly helped keep me on track. Interestingly the amount I ended up with at 55 was within 50K of what I thought I would need when I got there. Maybe I should have shot for higher.

Another Quicken user here... so it updates every time I update quotes.
It's not daily for me because I don't run quicken daily.... life gets in the way (darn J*b and kid$!!!) But I update once a week, typically, when I'm paying bills.

I use Fidelity's "full view" once a month but I also use Quicken whenever I update quotes or download transactions.