I Want To Leave Ameriprise

mikecart1

Dryer sheet wannabe
Sorry for first post. Quick background:

I'm 25. Have been with Ameriprise for 1.5 years. I know the market is down now and I am willing to admit the major losses are due to that. But I also see how much I am paying in commission fees for who knows what (every month 1 trade equals about $25 in commission). On top of that I got premium fees of $8, and I see both my IRA and VUL dropping in value every month due to market and other fees I can't even understand (I'm an engineer and MBA student currently).

I want your guys opinion of what to do.

I have about $6500 in there with over $3000 in losses from what I can see.

-How do I quit Ameriprise?
-How do I get the money out? (I prefer to just get it in my bank account for now as I'm done with Financial Advisors for now)
-I still have 401K at work.

-Also, is it possible to transfer the money to another site and let me do what I want with it?

I feel like the guy that got screwed over in Boiler Room. :mad::mad::(

I was once "raped" by Ameriprise too...

For the IRA: Roll it over to the brokerage company of your choice. It's better to do it that way rather than transferring the money to your bank account, because if you do the latter you'll owe income taxes + 10% in penalties on the money you take out of your IRA. The way to do it: Open a rollover IRA at another brokerage company (I like Vanguard, but other companies like Schwab, Etrade, TD Ameritrade, Fidelity would work too), give them your account number at Ameriprise and let them handle the transfer. It's a pretty simple procedure. Once the money is transferred to your new account, you can invest it however you want.