Oops. IRS quarterly payments were due 9/15

IndependentlyPoor

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
If you are FIREd you likely make quarterly I.R.S. payments. If you are like me it slips your mind. :blush:

i set an alarm last year about this time and have set 1 for next year now

Fortunately (I think) the only "penalty" is interest for being late so if only a few days, not so big a deal.

Being new to quarterly payments, I sent mine in a couple of weeks ago. :LOL:

I'm sure I'll get more cavalier about it after a few years! :angel:

I've been making quarterly payments for 40 years. I use a calendar to help me- formerly a daily planner but now an online version.

Ha

I have each quarter set up as an annual scheduled payment in Quicken so I get reminded 15 days in advance.

It's also in my computer calendar for every year. That notifies me too. That's the easiest way to deal with it - haven't missed one yet in the last 10 years!

W2R - check out eftps.gov. That way you don't have to "send" anything, just schedule a withdrawal for the day due.

Sometimes we remind each other on the forum. I'll try to do that more often, but don't count on me!

Audrey

Thank you, Audrey!! That is EXACTLY what I need. Much appreciated.
It takes a few weeks to get enrolled, but it is very easy after that. I made my first payment on the 15th. I've got a reminder set up on a calendar program I use.

-- Rita

W2R - check out eftps.gov. That way you don't have to "send" anything, just schedule a withdrawal for the day due.

But don't wait until the last minute. It can take a couple of weeks to do the initial setup. Works great.

This is my first year of ER and I have a couple of questions on estimated taxes

1. Do I have to pay estimated taxes even if my distributions TO DATE are below the income levels that are taxed?

2. If I plan to make a transfer from my IRA to a ROTH later this year, do I have to pay estimated taxes on that amount now?