Question regarding AMAZING dividends

LeavingOhio

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been investing for a long time, but I'm no expert. I always enjoy seeing the dividend portion of my fund contributions, but this past December, the dividends I received were HUGE compared to what I've seen in the past - more than 4 times what I've ever seen.

Do any of you have any idea why that might be? Also, why are my dividends typically so much larger in December than any other month?

Thanks!

I'm up maybe 10%. You must be picking the right kind of securities. If you are talking about mutual funds, many distribute dividends and capital gains only in December, Many ETF's do that as well.

I think you're referring to the concerns of the fiscal cliff tax hikes. Some companies moved one or more 2013 dividend payments into 2012 to avoid it. For example, Oracle decided to move 3 dividend payments for 2013 into Dec 2012. If you do a little digging, I'm sure that's what happened to your holdings

I've been investing for a long time, but I'm no expert. I always enjoy seeing the dividend portion of my fund contributions, but this past December, the dividends I received were HUGE compared to what I've seen in the past - more than 4 times what I've ever seen.

Do any of you have any idea why that might be? Also, why are my dividends typically so much larger in December than any other month?

Thanks!
1. Most mutual funds pay out capital gains distributions once a year - usually in December. They may pay dividends out more regularly - quarterly or monthly.

2. In years with a rise in stock markets, equity mutual funds often do more stock selling/portfolio repositioning, so this often results in higher capital gains distributions in "good" years.