Join Early Retirement Today

Question regarding AMAZING dividends
Old 01-03-2013, 09:22 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Question regarding AMAZING dividends

I've been investing for a long time, but I'm no expert. I always enjoy seeing the dividend portion of my fund contributions, but this past December, the dividends I received were HUGE compared to what I've seen in the past - more than 4 times what I've ever seen.

Do any of you have any idea why that might be? Also, why are my dividends typically so much larger in December than any other month?

Thanks!

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-03-2013, 09:37 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

I'm up maybe 10%. You must be picking the right kind of securities. If you are talking about mutual funds, many distribute dividends and capital gains only in December, Many ETF's do that as well.

Old 01-03-2013, 09:51 AM   #3