retirement Outside the US More Rhetoric than Reality

I'm a software developer. From what I've heard from others I'd have no problem getting into Canada as a 'skilled immigrant'. Many countries around the world welcome folks with the right skills. You don't necessarily need boatloads of money to immigrate.

On a related note, I've also thought it'd be fun to move from country to country working 6 month contracts. Most apartment complexes I've stayed at offer 6 month leases, and I'm sure one could work out the details.

Last edited:
I used 'fly over country' to illustrate a point, one I didn't make very well. If one takes an existing set of attitudes, beliefs, behaviors, habits and expectations formed in one environment into a new place one notices the differences, both better and worse. But it's all about the person (unless that person is a New Yorker, then it's all about the new place ;-).

Non-Americans don't distinguish between "The Coasts" or "Fly-over Country". To them, all Americans are pretty much the same. So if you retire abroad leave the US hubris and attitude of superiority behind. Other countries have a lot to offer and you need to embrace that to successfully retire abroad.

Non-Americans don't distinguish between "The Coasts" or "Fly-over Country". To them, all Americans are pretty much the same. So if you retire abroad leave the US hubris and attitude of superiority behind. Other countries have a lot to offer and you need to embrace that to successfully retire abroad.

Your're painting with a pretty broad brush. My experience is different - neither poor appreciation of geography nor hubris & attitude are the monopoly of any country or geographic collection of people.

Last edited: