SPIAs and Market Corrections.

Has the recent market correction made you consider adding fixed annuities to your AA

• Yes

Votes: 4 5.0%
  • No

Votes: 76 95.0%

• Total voters

nun

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
We all have our own individual investing styles and philosophies, but I'd be interested to learn if the recent market correction has made anyone think about adding an SPIA (or a deferred annuity if you're not yet retired) to your portfolio.

I invest with TIAA-CREF and they promote a mix of annuities and index funds to fund retirement. I have money in TIAA-Traditional, but I don't plan on turning it into an annuity.

Last edited:
Nope. I am sticking with the S&P. My rentals and dividends will provide the income I need to live on.

Although market gyrations are a great fear-induced sales tool for annuity salespersons, I'm no more prone to buy an annuity today than I was a week ago, a year ago or a decade ago.

No pension and ER'd at age 52 with a 3.0% WR (which is now 3.1% as a result of the correction). Only 10% if my annual budget is totally discretionary. I could reduce an additional 10% but doing so would have me beating myself up for retiring too early (ie: the pain of w*rk would be less than the pain of giving up some discretionary spend). I voted yes. The correction has made me think that adding an annuity at some point may not be as taboo an idea as I previously thought.

I'm ok having a minimalist existance once I hit 75. If it came to that it would be the "cost" of having had 23 years of freedom from Megacorp. If / when the time comes to purchase a SPIA it would begin at age 75 and be enough to ensure I could cover the gap vs SSI alone to pay for home maintenance, utilities, healthcare , eating well and some sort of monthly splurge for entertainment (think: 3D movie, comedy club dinner).