Who does their own taxes?

Trek

Full time employment: Posting here.
I know most on the boards manage their own finances, but do most handle their own taxes at year end? This year I'm considering a bit of help. But seeing numerous programs where they go to 5 different tax experts with the same tax information and get 5 different return amounts, I wonder if I shouldn't continue to do it myself?

I do my own ( I am a CPA though)

That may change in the future. It's been almost 7 years since I took the exam and I have not kept up with all areas of tax. I'm seriously considering hiring another CPA to do mine next year.

I don't do mine. I use the same tax guy I have for 20 years. He has saved me money and more than paid for his fee. I don't have to study taxes each year.

The difference between managing your own investments is the tax man looks into the past and can see what to do. The financial planner has to look into the future. I don't believe that anyone can predict the future. 8)

I've used TurboTax since it first went on the market. I've always done my own taxes and wish to keep it that way. Of course, my situation is probably not as complicated as other posters.

I do my own, but it almost is like a hobby to me. I keep up with all the tax changes, and my return is not complicated. I itemize, but have no other schedules or rental property, etc.

What some folks do is go to an outsider one time and see what new items if any that person comes up with, and then copy it themselves the next year. That way you are only paying once for this knowledge. If you do your own taxes, you should read one of the guides for the changes in the tax laws in 2006.