First impressions just 5 days after ESR

Easter morning brunch party: "What kind of work do you do?" made me pause a second, then "I'm a doctor at Mount St. Elsewhere. [awkward pause] Actually I'm semi-retired as of last week."

I can see this will be something to give me pause as well. I plan to SR at the end of the month (plan is to work one day a week after that although it is somewhat up in the air). In my case, I am an attorney.

A couple of weeks ago I was at home on vacation all week getting things ready to move. We had some workmen in our house and it was obvious to me from some comments that they had the assumption that I was a, well, housewife (do they still use that term?). That bothered me since I've been a working outside the home wife since I got married and worked full time before marriage as well (didn't marry until late 30s). Maybe because I married "late" and was the only kid I knew during the 1960s whose mom worked outside the home I never got the idea of a non-working wife (I'm not against it so much as it just seemed a strange concept to me). So I hastened to make it clear that I was just on vacation and would normally be at work.

What bothers me about the early semi-retirement (I'm almost 56) is that many people are going to assume that I am a non-working wife rather than think that I'm retired. I fear that they won't ask me what I do (or did) and will simply assume that I never had a job and that does seem strange to me.

What bothers me about the early semi-retirement (I'm almost 56) is that many people are going to assume that I am a non-working wife rather than think that I'm retired. I fear that they won't ask me what I do (or did) and will simply assume that I never had a job and that does seem strange to me.
You'll get over all that and wake up one day to realize it doesn't matter anymore.

Well one way to not feel weird about this is to just keep working.

Addenda, following my first re-entry day (2 days a week):