19 and addicted!

rweb941

Confused about dryer sheets
Hey guys, after seeing this forum, I couldn't help but join.
I am on my way to a early retirement. While still being a student, I have managed to juggle school and work, which has allowed be to put 9,000 away in a vangaurd roth IRA and I have about 16,000 in taxable accounts. I also have emergency money saved as well. I will max out my IRA as long as I can, and hopefully after graduating get a job that offers a roth 401k. I will also still put extra money aside in taxable accounts as well. What advice do any of you guys have for me? I am also addicted to saving and investing, I find it fun to watch the markets/news daily. Feels good to be a member!

It will probably be better for you to not use a Roth 401(k), but to use a traditional 401(k). The reason is that early retirees can withdraw from the traditional 401(k) practically tax-free. So the money will be tax-free going in and tax-free coming out. That's better than a Roth 401(k) where it will be taxed before going in and tax-free coming out.

... I find it fun to watch the markets/news daily...

My first bit of advice would be to stop doing this. You're going to be far better off if you don't let daily market gyrations, predictions, forecasts, and other noise dictate - or even impact in the most minute way - your actions.

Welcome aboard. Congrats on a great start!

I love watching the gyrations though!!! I don't base any of my financial decisions of off the daily fluctuations.

I also dont plan on using my 401k a bajillion years down the road until I'm 60. Live off of taxable assets first.

LBYM, invest as much as possible, stay debt free, marry well; but you're only 19, for Pete's sake, so have some fun as well.

What are you studying in school? Are you sure it's something you want to retire from quickly? If so, are you sure this is what really what you want to study?