36 and late!

Cindy

Confused about dryer sheets
I must say, I am both impressed and overwhelmed with the info on this board.

Now for my story...

I'm 36, single, no kids. My financial picture is as follows:

Net Income: $56 K/yr
Debt: $0/mon
Monthly expenses: $1300/mon (Rent 950, insurance 53, food 100, gas 35, phone/internet 38, cable 13, remaining "other"...i.e. hair, entertainment, etc.

My problem...

I only have about $42 K saved at this point---combination of 401-K and deferred stock options. $30M and $12 M respectively.

Beginning this week---I plan to target saving $35 M per year for 5 years....

Have I screwed uo? I work in a factory and am not banking on overtime as I've gotten the last few years.

Please respond.

Cindy said:
I must say, I am both impressed and overwhelmed with the info on this board.

Now for my story...

I'm 36, single, no kids.  My financial picture is as follows:

Net Income:  $56 K/yr
Debt: $0/mon
Monthly expenses:  $1300/mon (Rent 950, insurance 53, food 100, gas 35, phone/internet 38, cable 13, remaining "other"...i.e. hair, entertainment, etc.

My problem...

I only have about $42 K saved at this point---combination of 401-K and deferred stock options.  $30M and $12 M respectively.

Beginning this week---I plan to target saving $35 M per year for 5 years....

Have I screwed uo?  I work in a factory and am not banking on overtime as I've gotten the last few years. 

Please respond.

I don't think you have screwed up. When I was 36 (long time ago) I
had a wife and 2 kids at home, big house, big mortgage and no real savings.
I made good money but we spent it all. Didn't get serious until I was
about 48, so you potentially have a lot of time to work on it (unless you wanted to retire in 2006, that is) :)

JG

He,he - Cindy you are doing GREAT! Keep it up and champagne will be on me when you pass the first 100k in a couple of years! Cheers!