Long-term Savings advice

CTburns

Confused about dryer sheets
I'm sorry if this has been asked alot, but I'm looking for some advice on where to put long-term savings money. I was thinking of a Vanguard Life-Stratagy fund as this would be money that I hope not to need for many years. Would this be a good choice, or are there other options that are better? I appreciate all advice and opinions, as I am fairly new to managing my own money.
My wife and I already fund our 403bs and Roth IRAs and have a savings account at ING. We are trying to have a child and want to focus on stockpiling some cash and reducing our debt with the expectation that she will only return to work part-time.

Thanks

Welcome CT.

I'd advise that you read a couple of books from this list:

Investment Books

You may find them at your library or cheaply as used books, online.

What is your 'long term'? If it is less than ten years, I would suggest buying CDs or individual bonds with the expectation to hold until maturity.

Thanks for the list Travelover. I certainly need to educate myself, and I'll take look at some of those recommendations.

Ed. I wasn't exactly clear, but I am referring to an emergency fund that I hope that I'll never have to tap into. My wife and I are committed to saving a 6 month cushion in case of job-loss or other emergency, but it seems silly to have all of that cash just sitting in a bank, or even locked in a CD. I would keep 2 months of cash in the bank, but should I do something else with the rest of it? Something low-moderate risk that would give me better returns than the bank that I could access in case of dire emergency.
FWIW, my wife and I are nurses, so it is not likely that we would suffer any long-term unemployment situation; as long as we are healthy enough to work.

there are 4 life strategy funds. they range from 20% to 90% in equities! this is NOT a place for an emergency fund even in the one with the lowest equity %.