"Navy standard workweek"

Nords

Moderator Emeritus
Google that phrase and get your eyes opened.

I spent 24 years carrying around a green ID card and I've been retired for over five years, but I'm still learning new concepts. I stumbled over this phrase in the Naval Institute's "Proceedings" magazine, and my first reaction was "I never knew that" followed immediately by "Of course BUPERS has defined a standard workweek!" Maybe this nugget should be filed under "Things I really didn't care to know":

"Both officer and enlisted workload, by definition are based upon a standard of individual work referred to as the Navy standard workweek. This work is further refined to describe the minimum skill level required to satisfy the task, the minimum necessary pay grade or experience level and finally the minimum quantity of personnel required to fulfill these duties while at sea. [...] The Navy Manpower Analysis Center (NAVMAC) reviews the ROC/POE documents and unit configuration, collects and analyzes data, and uses algorithmic modeling which applies to various pay grade distribution tables and manpower staffing standards to determine workload which is expressed in terms of 'man hours.' For enlisted requirements, NAVMAC applies the CNO-directed net of 70 hours of productive time per week. However, for officer requirements this algorithmic model and application of a standard workweek consisting of 70 hours is not applied."

Of course I've known this for years and personally verified it many times:
"There currently exists no formalized and approved process for the development of officer specific manpower requirements. Pieces of the process are evident in the formulation of pay grade specific data and definitions. However, there is no concrete evidence that a system exists on which to base the officer manpower requirement."

"SHIP’S OFFICER STAFFING GUIDE"