Over funded HSA

stargazer08

Recycles dryer sheets
I found out this past weekend that my employer put too much money into my HSA. It's only $50 but we know how anal uncle Sam is about this kind of stuff. I won't go into the gory details on how this happened (not my fault) but when I called to get it fixed, I was told by payroll that they were NOT going to fix it and re-issue a W-2 and that I needed to figure out what to do.

Niiice.

When I contacted our HSA administrator, they would gladly fix it for me for the small fee of $25!

I have googled and found out I can roll this overpayment into 2013 but for the life of me I can't figure out what paperwork is required. There has got to be something I need to file with the guberment. Anyone have a clue?

I am going to complain to HR but I'm in a cool down period because I really don't want to go job hunting. It's only $50 but I'm pretty P-Oed that the admin wants half of my money to fix a problem I didn't cause.

I'm not a tax expert (yet). So please take my advice with no guarantees.

My reading of the irs pub says you need to:
- withdraw the excess
- withdraw any gains made on that excess money (probably pennies this year)
- report the excess as income on your tax form (since it was done by your employer)
- report the gains as income
- do all this before you file, or amend your form if you filed.

This is all part of the instructions for form 8889, which you will have to file anyway. Basically, you are adjusting the numbers by moving them to "other income", while still filling 8889.

Please read details at the following link directed to "excess contributions": Instructions for Form 8889 (2012)

Last edited:
When I contacted our HSA administrator, they would gladly fix it for me for the small fee of $25!

Sorry, I missed this the first time. I have not so good news for you.