Please allow me to vent about work

saluki9

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OMG I'm going to scream!!!!! :mad:

I'm a portfolio manager for a medium size investment advisory firm in Chicago. Usually I'm a behind the scenes guy (I'm kind of like Dilbert in that they don't want me in front of the clients too much because I tend to tell the truth)

So, by force I was taken to a client dinner because this client tends to ask lots of questions about their account and they wanted to have somebody there to answer questions. So, I had to sit there (eating some pretty decent food) for 3.5 HOURS!!! listening to the client go on about how hard it is to live on $500K p/y (they were seriously complaining) down from $1.1M. Then I got the jolly task of explaining to them how we actually did a good job for them last year and they earned around 10.5% after fees on a fairly conservative accout blah blah blah....

So, after 3 hours or so, I was itching to get home (my wife was home sick) and after 3.5 hours we leave (to drive home another hour at which point it's now 11:00)

So today, I get called in by the senior people. I was thinking it might have been "great job, the clients are happy" NOPE! Instead, "you looked anxious to leave that meeting, it was an embarrasment to the firm"
I thought I was going to throw something

Frankly, stories such as yours convince me that retiring even from a government position is the correct thing to do. When I was in private legal practice (a generation ago) I worked for someone like you described. Makes me want to never go back.

setab

Look at it this way: ain't no way they will be bringing you to another client schmooze any time soon.

brewer12345 said:
Look at it this way: ain't no way they will be bringing you to another client schmooze any time soon.