Retire? How about never?

ziggy29

Moderator Emeritus
IT careers: Retire? How about never?

Nearly two years into the recession, shrinking nest eggs and the fear of skyrocketing health care costs are forcing late-career IT professionals to trade dreams of early retirement for the reality of toiling extra years in the workforce.

Instead of channeling their energies to around-the-world travel, starting a new business or devoting time to volunteer work, IT veterans find themselves either actively in the job market or desperately safeguarding their current employment. They're refocusing on career management, ramping up their skills training and trying to be as flexible about their job responsibilities as a twentysomething just starting out.

I know I've been spending a lot of my "off" time learning new skills lately.

I worked in IT for 25+ years. Historically (as IT goes) it's always been a high paying field. So older IT workers should already be in a good position to FIRE, if they've been good at saving, LBYM, etc. But if they're not, I've always thought that IT was a good field to be in because it's so diverse - if one works at a large company where there's a large IT department, you might have the opportunity to work your way into different areas of IT as your interests shift: programming, system administration, database administration, security, networking, project management... Over my 25 year carrer in IT, I feel like I've had 4 completely different careers. When I got bored with one specialty, I'd work my way into another area. When I was laid off this year, I decided to call it FIRE but I'm pretty sure I could have found something if I looked, but probably with a big pay cut due to the current economy.

In spite of what I said above, I don't think I'd want to be a 20-something year old with plans of a long career in IT.