Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Need Help Posting Tables
Old 11-18-2008, 03:47 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 21,810
Need Help Posting Tables

Can anyone remind me how to paste tabular data into a post? When I copy a table, it gets scrambled when it posts to the forum.

I am struggling with understanding something on the Treasury Direct site that relates to the inflation adjustments made to TIPS.

If I could post it you guys could maybe help me figure it out.

Ha
__________________

__________________
haha is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-18-2008, 03:54 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,969
Ha, I never mastered posting tabular data. Can you post it as a screen shot?
__________________

__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 05:36 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 10,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Ha, I never mastered posting tabular data. Can you post it as a screen shot?
It's a minor PITA, but that's what I've resorted to in the past...
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 60% equity funds / 35% bond funds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 05:38 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,013
Yes, screenshot. Life is too short to spend it trying to get the columns to line up.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
UPDATE to old thread...
Old 04-09-2009, 10:18 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,321
UPDATE to old thread...

OK, I just got trapped by this again. What I usually do in a text editor is to choose a "mono-spaced" font, Monoco, or Courier.

It ALMOST works on this forum. But it appears that spaces are not looked at as mono-spaced characters, which is just not right.

EX 1 FONT= VERANDA

GNMA/VFIIX 0.5 4.80% 1,000,000 24,000
SPY 0.5 3.70% 1,000,000 18,500
------
42,500

Now, that was copied from my text editor in Courier New Font, and it looks good there.

So, now try again with Courier New in the forum menu:

GNMA/VFIIX 0.5 4.80% 1,000,000 24,000
SPY 0.5 3.70% 1,000,000 18,500
------
42,500

OK, that actually aligns well in my window, but when I preview it... it looks like the extra spaces get removed. When I copy back to my text editor, the spaces are gone.

But, if I replace every sequential space with a char...

GNMA/VFIIX - 0.5 -- 4.80% -- 1,000,000 -- 24,000
SPY -------- 0.5 -- 3.70% -- 1,000,000 -- 18,500
----------------------------------------- ------
----------------------------------------- 42,500

It works.

Admins - can something be done?

This is a pain for people trying to post data, a very common occurrence here. And it would be a piece of cake if we just chose Courier New.

TIA - ERD50

Looks like this in my text editor:




Attached Images
File Type: jpg test courier.jpg (6.5 KB, 1 views)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf test courier.pdf (12.3 KB, 2 views)
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 11:17 AM   #6
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 34,684
Until a more elegant solution arrives, there is this:

index ...........year ...........month
8.875 ..........1989 ..........January
9.000 ..........1989 ..........February
9.000 ..........1989 ..........March
9.125 ..........1989 ..........April
9.250 ..........1989 ..........May
9.250 ..........1989 ..........June
9.125 ..........1989 ..........July
8.750 ..........1989 ..........August
8.375 ..........1989 ..........September
8.125 ..........1989 ..........October
8.125 ..........1989 ..........November
8.125 ..........1989 ..........December

which was done by copy/pasting five white periods ..... where larger spaces were desired. PITA ..... but it's something.
__________________
"You can never cross the ocean until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore." - - - C. Columbus
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 11:25 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,321
OK, that was pretty clever to turn them white. Better visually.

It works if you want to pretty it up a bit from just periods or dashes or something, but it's extra work and I'm just so lazy!

So, I'll pad with something if it doesn't get fixed, but it just seems odd that the forum SW pulls out sequential spaces. That must be an extra something they are doing, and it seems we'd be better off if it didn't go to all that 'trouble".

I'm just wondering if that is a config setting somewhere that can be disabled?

But until then, I'll pad away, and maybe use white if I want it to look extra special nice. Thanks!


-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 11:27 AM   #8
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 34,684
You're welcome! Hope it helps a little bit, anyway. Don't forget you can use the shortcuts Control-C to copy, and Control-V to paste. Then you can copy once and zip through the table pasting repeatedly (bing bing bing) and it is way faster. Sorry this is the best I could figure out right now! Hopefully the admins will come up with something more elegant.
__________________
"You can never cross the ocean until you have the courage to lose sight of the shore." - - - C. Columbus
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 11:47 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
HFWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lawn chair in Texas
Posts: 12,516
Piece of cake...



Make a table in a spreadsheet, copy/paste it into paint or some such, then save it as a jpg...

__________________
Have Funds, Will Retire

...not doing anything of true substance...
HFWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 02:02 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,321
Thanks, that works too, I ended up doing that as an example. It's just a few extra steps. I guess I'm just surprised that a simple copy/paste messes with the spaces like it does.

Not one of life's greatest problems, just a minor annoyance.


-ERD50

Quote:
Originally Posted by HFWR View Post
Piece of cake...



Make a table in a spreadsheet, copy/paste it into paint or some such, then save it as a jpg...

__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 02:31 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
HFWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lawn chair in Texas
Posts: 12,516
Boy, do I miss being down "only" 6%, per the illustrative chart (originally posted last summer)...
__________________
Have Funds, Will Retire

...not doing anything of true substance...
HFWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 04:56 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
clifp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,427
Dear Andy, Admins

I am also frustrated by the lack of tables.

Many other Bulletin Board system (include other VBB systems) support the HTML tag
[PRE] [/PRE] which tells the browser not to format the information between tags.

Any chance this can be added to the forums?
__________________
clifp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 05:02 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,969
Janet H is doing some research to find a plug-in table editor for vBulletin.
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 03:35 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,969
Clifp, in case you missed it, Janet H found a tool to help with tables: Add a table to your post - New tool
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 04:42 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 10,647
Just
Test
 ing
Cool
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 60% equity funds / 35% bond funds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 05:22 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
freebird5825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Nowhere, 43N Latitude, NY
Posts: 9,019
Fourscore 
and 
seven 
years 
ago 

Practicemakesperfect

all better

Thank you, Janet and Team Moderators
__________________
"All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them." - Walt Disney
freebird5825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:19 PM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Clifp, in case you missed it, Janet H found a tool to help with tables: Add a table to your post - New tool

It's nice to have another tool, and I appreciate the effort to add it, but unfortunately, this really doesn't address the original issue.

It seems so simple that if I post something with spaces in it and use a mono-spaced font, that the forum software shouldn't take it upon itself to remove those spaces.


test w/Courier new:

5 chars_ follow this>_____<those were 5 char_
5 spaces follow this> <those were 5 spaces
0123456789
0123456789012345678901234567890123456789

See? It removes five spaces and replaces them with one space.

Hmmm, will THIS work?:

test the ...CODE.... tags:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/misc.php?do=bbcode#code

Code:
5 spaces follow this>     <those were 5 spaces
01234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789
next test from their example:


Code:
        <script type="text/javascript">
        <!--
            alert("Hello world!");
        //-->
        </script>
Did that work?

OK, after a PREVIEW, that seems to do it

looks like "CODE" tags are the answer!

-ERD50

from the bulletin site: The [code] tag switches to a fixed-width (monospace) font and preserves all spacing. I needed to put _noparse_ tags in there so it would display the tag
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:23 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
clifp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,427
Thanks Janet that will come in handy. It is isn't the perfect solution for cut and pasting data from another source, but a still a big improvement.
__________________
clifp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 07:37 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by clifp View Post
It is isn't the perfect solution for cut and pasting data from another source, but a still a big improvement.
No, but the *CODE* tags will help with cut paste


Code:
GNMA/VFIIX - 0.5 -- 4.80% -- 1,000,000 -- 24,000
SPY -------- 0.5 -- 3.70% -- 1,000,000 -- 18,500
----------------------------------------- ------
----------------------------------------- 42,500

GNMA/VFIIX   0.5    4.80%    1,000,000    24,000
SPY          0.5    3.70%    1,000,000    18,500
                                          ------      
                                          42,500
-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 05:17 AM   #20
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
clifp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7,427
ERD I played with the code tag. It is almost perfect for cut and paste tables.

Thanks a bunch.
__________________

__________________
clifp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reserves/NG and the 40-year pay tables Nords FIRE and Money 9 02-15-2007 10:12 PM
Billiards Tables...Info please Maneiac Other topics 5 11-14-2006 06:58 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.