Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Problems replying to posts in Firefox
Old 03-27-2010, 06:26 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,081
Problems replying to posts in Firefox

I can't seem to reply to posts or create PMs in Firefox. I get an error message saying that "security tokens are missing".

I'm using an old version of Explorer (v6) to post this. For some reason megacorp wants us to stay on 6 for a few more months (proprietary software that uses Explorer I guess), but there are some websites that 6 will not work with, so I have downloaded Firefox and have tried posting PMs and replies, but get the above message.

Help??

R
__________________

__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-27-2010, 06:55 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 1,930
I've been seeing the same thing the past few days.

I have discovered that if I hit the back button when I am on the "security tokens" page and then hit the "post reply" a second time that the reply goes through.

I'm on Firefox 3.6.2.

2Cor521
__________________

__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 06:58 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 38,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
I'm on Firefox 3.6.2.
I'm using the same version of Firefox and have had no problems.
__________________
Numbers is hard.

The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence. - Charles Bukowski

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension

REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:00 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
I'm using the same version of Firefox and have had no problems.
Thanks guys, will try what 2Cor said. This one is from Explorer.

R
__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:06 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,081
I tried another PM. was going to do what 2Cor said, but it went thru w/o the error message. Don't know what is/was going on.

R

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambler View Post
Thanks guys, will try what 2Cor said. This one is from Explorer.

R
__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 07:07 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,081
OK, so I tried replying to this thread with a quote, got the error message again, hit the back button, and then the submit button, and it worked...the one above this message.

R
__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 08:42 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 1,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambler View Post
I tried another PM. was going to do what 2Cor said, but it went thru w/o the error message. Don't know what is/was going on.

R
Most of the time the reply goes through the first time for me.

I think I have seen the "security tokens" screen maybe three or four times. Each of those times the workaround I suggested has worked for me.

I think I have only seen this issue since the security update that the mods mentioned -- maybe it was Tuesday or Wednesday of this past week?

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:07 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Nodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cavalier
Posts: 2,125
I'm replying using version 3.6.2 of Firefox and haven't had any problems with PMs either.
__________________
"Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent." Pogo Possum (Walt Kelly)
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:01 AM   #9
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,770
Here's the standard stock fix for mysterious computer related browsing problems and I recommend you try...

Empty you temp internet files and delete your stored cookies. (note doing this will cause you to have log in to sites again later). Then restart your computer.
__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. (Robin Williams)
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 11:07 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 16,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
I think I have seen the "security tokens" screen maybe three or four times.
I have seen it on occasion. I eventually get through it, but I can't recall what I did. I know I didn't clear cookies or cache (though that is good general advice, and might very well fix this), think I just logged in/out.

If it comes up again, I'll make some notes. BTW, I try to remember to do a select-all, copy, before I post. At least I have it in the copy/paste buffer if something goes wonky.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 11:46 AM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 1,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet H View Post
Here's the standard stock fix for mysterious computer related browsing problems and I recommend you try...

Empty you temp internet files and delete your stored cookies. (note doing this will cause you to have log in to sites again later). Then restart your computer.
Being in the computer biz, I understand the reasoning behind this suggestion.

I would point out, however, that this problem is unique to this forum site and only began occurring in the last week or so. (At least that is my experience.)

The problem occurred before I updated to FF 3.6.2, so I doubt it's the browser.

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 01:55 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,081
I'm on Explorer right now (even though not at the office), but I will try the temp file/cookie purge next time to see if it works. My version of FF is also 3.6.2, just loaded it onto this PC about a week ago even though my home PC has had FF for a while.

thanks for the help.

R
__________________

__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help: Can't log in to Firefox Achiever51 Other topics 9 09-27-2009 09:31 AM
Replying to old thread cutoff Trek Forum Admin 2 01-31-2009 04:08 PM
Firefox 3.0 Danny Other topics 26 06-21-2008 07:16 AM
XP/Firefox/early-retire problem Khan Other topics 7 04-15-2008 02:09 PM
SeaMonkey 1 (FireFox/ThunderBird Suite) ShokWaveRider Other topics 3 02-28-2006 09:53 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:52 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.