Enrolling in Medicare

MayGray

Dryer sheet wannabe
I'm a newbie to this board and to Medicare. I'm hoping others who have recently enrolled in Medicare can help me figure out what's going on here so I don't have to spend another hour on the telephone next Monday just to ask this question.

I enrolled in Medicare by telephone in early December. I was told I would get a printed Notice to review for correctness. Today (Friday December 26th, a federal holiday) I received a copy of my "Application Summary for Hospital Insurance Only." I was under the impression I was applying for both Part A Hospital Insurance and Part B Medical Insurance.

Will I get another "application summary" for Part B? Or do I have to call and talk to the Claims Taker and re-apply for Part B?

I'm a newbie to this board and to Medicare. I'm hoping others who have recently enrolled in Medicare can help me figure out what's going on here so I don't have to spend another hour on the telephone next Monday just to ask this question.

I enrolled in Medicare by telephone in early December. I was told I would get a printed Notice to review for correctness. Today (Friday December 26th, a federal holiday) I received a copy of my "Application Summary for Hospital Insurance Only." I was under the impression I was applying for both Part A Hospital Insurance and Part B Medical Insurance.

Will I get another "application summary" for Part B? Or do I have to call and talk to the Claims Taker and re-apply for Part B?

I enrolled in Medicare earlier this year. In my paperwork that I saved, I have a document titled "Application Summary for Hospital Insurance Only." I assume that this is basically the same document that you refer to in your post. About halfway down my document appears the following line: "I want to enroll in Part B of Medicare." BTW, I'm enrolled in part B. If you don't have a similar line in your document, I would recommend that you check with SS to verify that you are enrolled in part B.