fear of flying

I have no experience with phobia or panic attacks. I have less knowledge about flying and aircraft than some of our other posters. Some of the suggestions about small aircraft are excellent. Signing up for an introductory lesson at an un-crowded airport might be the experience that you need. Remember, as the paying student you are in charge. A significant part of the lesson should be spent on familiarizing you with the aircraft and you can arrange to sit in the plane as long as you want to. Make sure the instructor understands your circumstances and establishes a go/no go point so that YOU can abort the take off if you want to. It seems as though you don't know why you are afraid and we don't know if or why a small plane experience will help. For the small expense and low risk it might be worth a try.

I would also not recommend a small plane ride for you...it could backfire and further amplify the fear.

Maybe this info will help...LH had his private pilot's license (VFR only) back in the early 80s. I audited ground school so I would be a better informed passenger "just in case" he needed assistance. I was taught the full details of flight: mechanics, controls, airspace rules, radio communications and preflight checklists. It was an excellent course. :D I had no desire to be a pilot. :nonono:

I am not afraid to be a passenger in commercial aircraft, except just before touchdown I still get a small fear reaction. I love the thrill of takeoff. I am afraid of heights, but not when airborne. :confused:

In the single engine prop plane, I will admit I was very afraid. But having gone through ground school helped me understand what was happening and I was able to assist as chartist and lookout for other aircraft. I also "took" the controls for very brief periods to get the feel of them. This helped me with the fear of being "up there" in such a tiny plane.