Sugary Soft Drinks

Nash's diet sounds almost scientific to me - throughout my entire 20's and into my mid 30's, I was a professional powerlifter.

That meant my daily diet consisted of meat, eggs, tuna, peanut butter, milk......

And I was in really good shape.

Now, not so much so. Have to admit I drink close to a couple of liters of soda each day and not enough of the good stuff. Haven't worked out in a couple of years. And my body is reminding me of "the good old days".

This thread has been inspiring. I think I'll stop buying soda, slice up some lemons and limes, and throw them in a gallon jug of water that I'll keep in the frigde.

And start working out again. Yeah, I need to do that. It really helps. :)

The primary reason to lower my intake of processed sugar is that it is an energy vampire, and the older I get, the more I value foods that keep my energy humming along. Which is the primary reason I kicked the majority of my processed sugar intake to the curb some months ago. There is no better feeling, to me at least, than the surge of well being and energy I get when I eat well and exercise vigorously. Only a few other things in life come close. ;)

And I'm sorry, but say whatever some of you will, at the end of the day caloric intake vs caloric expenditure will always dictate weight in the long run. The quality of the calories you elect to put into your mouth will affect many, many things, energy and long term health among them, but your body will still respond to the sum total, regardless.

Why do drastic procedures like gastric bypass work to reduce weight if caloric intake isn't extremely relevant?

Nash's diet sounds almost scientific to me - throughout my entire 20's and into my mid 30's, I was a professional powerlifter.

That meant my daily diet consisted of meat, eggs, tuna, peanut butter, milk......

And I was in really good shape.