Helena

Full time employment: Posting here.
fyi

Most car insurance policies are written,
to and from work and pleasure, once
you retire, changing to pleasure only
should reduce the premium a little...
every little bit helps ;)

After I retired, I contacted my insurer (AAA) about reducing my rate. My agent asked if I'm a member of AARP (sure am!) and told me that because of a relatively new relationship between the Auto Club and AARP, my annual premium would DROP BY $300 !!

Well worth the $12 membership charge to belong to AARP!

Try this , get a quote from AARP, (hartford) insurance.
Ours dropped $700 /yr by switching from allstate.

Homestead

Even though I'm only 30, my rates dropped when I showed my agent that I was a part-time driver only driving 7,500 miles or less per year. I had to show proof of this through odometer dating, but it's definitely saved me some $$

my insurance (Progressive) started using some weird metric for credit rating and it says that I am not getting their lowest tier rates because

A)my earliest reported account was opened after age 21 (can't do anything to fix that now, can I, how is this useful 17yrs later?)

B)
* no history of car loans or leases was provided (had one 10 yrs ago...)

C)
only 1 loan or account with current payment status (my credit card, I have no mortgage loan and hate to think this is harming my credit and costing me more for insurance...)

Anyone else have these issues with lack of loans affecting their insurance rates?

my insurance (Progressive) started using some weird metric for credit rating and it says that I am not getting their lowest tier rates because

A)my earliest reported account was opened after age 21 (can't do anything to fix that now, can I, how is this useful 17yrs later?)

B) * no history of car loans or leases was provided (had one 10 yrs ago...)