mid atlantic states question: route 17

lazygood4nothinbum

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
bizzy bizzy vacation. heading out tomorrow night. this is my first time doing this drive. stop someplace midway carolinas on way up. friday party with old friend flying in from california, saturday 50th b-day party high school reunion n.y. dinner cruise, sunday unveiling of mom's memorial, monday meet father's cousins for first time in my life, monday night dinner in n.y., tuesday lunch with cousin in from hawaii (who happened to schedule his mom's unveiling for same day as mine), wed see friend in phili and tour there, thurs-sat washington dc and then head down to captain sarah's in charleston before the last leg home.

i'm pretty much beelining it north (only because i haven't packed yet, ooops) but thought if no storms headed this way i'll take it easy coming home. i see on map highway 17 starts just south of washington dc. looks like goes through williamsburg/jamestown which i haven't seen since my 8th grade school trip there and then looks like the highway hugs the coast all the way down to charleston sc.

is this a nice scenic drive or a road to be avoided? any idea time-wise washington dc to charleston via rt 17? any must-sees along that way?

i see on map highway 17 starts just south of washington dc. looks like goes through williamsburg/jamestown which i haven't seen since my 8th grade school trip there and then looks like the highway hugs the coast all the way down to charleston sc.

is this a nice scenic drive or a road to be avoided? any idea time-wise washington dc to charleston via rt 17? any must-sees along that way?