Mom of four from Canada

Kate16

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi all,

I'm 37, married with four kids ages 9 to 14 and just started working two years ago after being a stay at home mom. I'm an accountant from Ontario. We are planning for RE in about 9 years when we hope to have $1M in investments. Just a little over a quarter of the way so far, but most of that while being a one income family. The mortage will be paid off next summer (at the 10 year mark) and then we'll be able to add mortgage payments to savings.

I've enjoyed reading the forums so decided to finally register. I'd give you more background on some of my "passions" in life, but I wouldn't want you to think I'm selling anything. :)

Kate

Welcome, there are other Canadians on the board so we know all about your healthcare system, pros and cons :)

Congratulations on getting close to paying off your mortgage (which also has its pros and cons). You will find this place has lots of do it yourselfers who are not afraid to speak up but remember that in the end, you will be making the final decision.

Congrats on your financial accomplishments so far. Unlike US taxpayers who can deduct mortgage interest on a principal residence, it is almost always better for a Canuck to accelerate paying out the mortgage.

I trust you and your DH have been maximizing your contributions to RRSPs. Despite the new ITA provisions permitting splitting of qualified pension income, it is still good to utilize the Spousal RRSP option. What Jimmy has given, Stephane (or his successor) could always take away at a later date.

You may also wish to consider the Canadian based Financial Webring forum as a source of Canuck oriented info if you have not already found it.