Perpetual travel

JamesInSanJose

Confused about dryer sheets
I want to travel after I retire. I have been working / living in one form of box or another for the last 25 years, and have built up a serious case of wanderlust. What interests me is the idea of an extended around-the-world trip, spanning at lease several years and all seven continents.

The basic idea is "travel as a lifestyle." With a pace that is slower than the standard whoorlwind vacation.

Have any of you here done, are doing, or are planning to do extended international travel? If so, what information, or references can you provide regarding the planning, budget, travel arrangements, or other issues to consider?

Thanks,
James

i'm on a similar path. never traveled much in my pre-er life. just the caribbean, bahamas, some northeast areas and florida. so i am not at all acclimated to travel.

i'm easing myself into it with roadtrips around the country. so far did blue ridge mnts, smokys and a trip up and down the east coast. next i will try summers away in a foreign land like three months in toronto. if i take to that i'll try going farther offshore.

within 3-5 years i see myself selling the house and becoming a perpetual traveler, living in each place for a minimum of 3 to 6 months. my goal is not to go around the world but to get a better sense of where i am so that by the time i die i will know where i was. i can think of at least 20 countries i'd like to experience and at 6 months each that alone would take 10 years.

anyway, that's the plan. now to see what life has in store.

there's tons of information on the web to get you going. when i first started researching i thought i could just bop around the planet and stay anywhere as long as i liked. but it doesn't quite work like that. so one website i find particularly useful to get an idea of the logistics of perpetual travel is
Visa and embassy information for all countries - Projectvisa.com.