Diversification Is For Amateurs

sarahsays

Recycles dryer sheets
The latest (and last) Sophisticated Investor column from MarketWatch lists the five money management tips we can learn from the wealthy.

Number 2 is especially interesting.

2) Investing: Long-term growth may be the road to success, but you have to take risk to get rich. No guts, no blue chips, as they say. Concentrated, thoroughly researched positions will make you rich. Diversification, as money manager Marty Whitman -- a hall of fame investor in my mind -- says, "diversification is for amateurs."

Diversification is for people who don't want to wake up some morning suddenly needing a job.

As for MJ Whitman, take a look at his 3rd Avenue Fund. Maybe he is an amateur, because this fund is widely diversified- though not like an index.

Ha

"Diversification is for amateurs"?

Uh huh... :rolleyes:

After all, why spread risk when you can HAVE IT ALL! :2funny:

Well, I'm an amateur so I'll stay diversified.

I'd agree that a concentrated position is the only sure path to quick riches or quickly losing it all.... be sure it's all in naked puts as well. No sense saying you're going to go big and then not following through ;-)

Appropriate that it's his last column. If he really encourages Joe Schmoe to put all his money into "the next big thing" and not diversify, he shouldn't be writing an investment advice column!

I just thought the board would get a kick out of his ideas.

Frankly, in this situation, it is a complement to be an amateur. Amateurs are too busy with the important things in life and know, statistically, a diversified equity portfolio provides more wealth than one managed in this fashion. Just like poker players, a few can do quite well over the years but most loose it all.