I'm a noob with baseball so forgive my ignorance...

Keyboard Ninja

Recycles dryer sheets
If a pitcher is trying to throw out a player at 1st base then why does the 1st baseman try to tag the runner? If he is standing on 1st isn't the runner automatically out if the ball gets there first :confused:

That "force out" play only applies to advancing runners if they are "forced" to advance to the next base by a following runner. In the "pick-off" case you describe, the runner could instead of returning to first base turn and try to steal second base instead. So no "force" by tagging a base instead of a player.

That "force out" play only applies to advancing runners if they are "forced" to advance to the next base by a following runner. In the "pick-off" case you describe, the runner could instead of returning to first base turn and try to steal second base instead. So no "force" by tagging a base instead of a player.

A+

Next question

Name 7 ways a batter can safely reach first base:

1. hit
2. walk

3. hit by pitch
4. run on strike three when catcher doesn't control ball

Here's another one...

Runners on first and second, no outs. The batter swings and puts the ball in play. The defense scores a triple play, but without a single fielder touching the ball. How?

Hint: the ball is hit in the air.

5. Reaching on a fielder's choice.
6. Reaching on an error.

That's the seven I know.

Rich, roster substitution makes eight if you change the question from "batter" to "player".

The batter's out before the ball is caught when the infield fly rule is called.

BTW, that's hint #2 on the triple play question.

Htown Harry:

This is a complete guess regarding your question about the triple play. What if the batter hits a pop up and the infield fly rule is called, but the runner on first base runs and passes the runner on second base in the base path. Is that it?

Htown Harry: