Kid's savings

MountainMedic

Confused about dryer sheets
I am a 35 y/o married male with wife and 7 y/o male, 5 y/o female and 3 y/o female. We fund 529's for our children but I am debating how to help them invest some of their savings. They each have "spending" money of around $5-$10, "savings" account for larger purchases which we cap that account somewhere around $100) and "investments" for down-the-road items like cars and homes. They each respectively have $600/ $400/ $300. I have tried to search for ideas within this forum but don't seem to come up with ideas that really match our direction for how to invest their "investment" monies. I am very new to FIRE and am just beginning to understand investments. I would ideally like to open a Roth-style account but none of the kids have earned income. Until they do, I am trying to decide how to place this money. For the wife and I, we currently have all of our money (savings, Roths, 401k's and HSA) in money market accounts and are soon to transition into ultra short-term government bonds. We are simply following the moving average and have decided that the market is not going to go all that great for a while so we just want to stay conservative. With the kids money, though, we are okay with assuming quite a bit more risk. We are just ignorant on the best method. Since we are not financially sophisticated, I want to keep things simple. Should we just buy the kids Wal-Mart, Microsoft or Conoco-Phillips, go into an emerging-markets fund like Fidelity New Markets Income, is it too late to buy into potential easy money of BP, just buy a good mutual fund... What ideas do you all have? Remember, keep it easy for us newbies, but please provide a rational as I want to understand your ideas. Thank you for the help and any ideas are welcome.

-MM

I am a 35 y/o married male with wife and 7 y/o male, 5 y/o female and 3 y/o female. We fund 529's for our children but I am debating how to help them invest some of their savings.