Can I make it till ESOP?

Dwhit

Recycles dryer sheets
I will be turning 55 next month. I have always wanted to retire at 55. I have about $310,000 in a 401k and about 2.3 million in the company's ESOP.

Currently I making $150,000 a year, which is plenty for us. My youngest child will be starting college this fall,but she has a scholarship to cover most all of that.

I found out that I can withdraw from my 401k without penalty, but the problem is my ESOP says retirement age is 59 1/2. So I don't think I can stretch the 401k over the 5 or 6 years till I can withdraw from the ESOP.

So my question is there any chance of getting the ESOP early, or finding a way to borrow against it, or something like that.

Thanks!

I'm not an expert on the rules regarding withdrawing from ESOPs, so I'll let others comment on that. But I am wondering if you're addressing the risk of the company stock in your ESOP falling in value between when you retire at 55 and when you can withdraw and diversify at 59.5. How comfortable are you that the lack of diversity in your wealth might not result in a significant value drop before 59.5 comes around?

And welcome to the FIRE board! I see you're a male from Oklahoma, but why not introduce yourself including a little more detail so folks know just a bit about who they're addressing.

Last edited:
Shot answer is Ok for the next couple of years, but it is a concern past that. If I stay another year or two, I can diversify my ESOP, which I believe will be a 25 percent sale of ESOP company stock, distributed to my 401k.

It seems to me that the issue of stretching your 401k dollars out until you reach 59.5 is the minor one. And I'm sure other posters will arrive to advise you on how to get expenses down to less than $150k/yr. My concern would be how you ensure that the current $2.3M value of your ESOP stock is there in the 4 years between an age 55 retirement and the 59.5 ESOP withdrawal age.