Hi, Im Neena... quitting job

neena

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello! I quit high stress consulting job recently to take some time off and find something else to do a little later. I have been working and traveling for last 25 years and have made some investments so that i can easily take a few months off. i can even retire if I want to... by making a few living adjustments.

anyhow, i didn't go around announcing about quitting job. and going by some reactions, i wont even utter the 'Retirement' word. but i dont like to lie. so when friends/family enquired about my job, or work related travel... i told them i am taking some time off and will look for non-consulting and non/less travel job after a little while.

i am getting varied reactions. parents are happy that i am getting some much deserved rest. some other close fam members also appear genuinely happy for me. others show as if they are concerned but their comments probably stem from jealousy 'what do you do all day'; 'novelty will wear off, find something soon'; 'this is escapism'; 'you wont find a lesser paying job or junior positions fulfilling'; 'you shouldnt have quit job without finding another'; ... etc etc

its been couple of months, i am thoroughly enjoying my time off. i am working out 1 - 1.5 hours every day. eating healthier because i am not traveling like a mad person. i even lost 5-6 lbs and look fitter than ever. have been learning spanish and indulging in a few other things that i didnt get a chance to do. spending more time with parents, they are thrilled.