Am I digging myself deeper into a hole?

skynet

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi, I'm a single male in my early 30s with no family. I graduated college 10 years ago. The degree turned out to be useless, and I've been working for the last decade in low-paying jobs. I want to retire early. I would need a much higher income to achieve this goal, so I'm thinking about going back to school. I've considered various career scenarios, and in each case, going back to school would wipe out most of my limited life savings.

Most early retirement advice recommends against additional education. Under what circumstances would going back to school be advisable?

I'm 10 years behind others my age in savings and investments, so how do I catch up? Outside of improving my career, what other things should I be doing if I want to retire early? What investments should I be thinking about?

I'd like to start a family one day. How do I reconcile this goal with my goal of early retirement?

It is true that one of the two keys to early retirement is at least a decent income, the other is of course saving+investing. Sometimes, someone will have a degree that is really not in demand, and have a not good GPA, making it tough to earn income, outside of creating their own business, which is not simple in itself, even getting into landlording has major pitfalls. There is also skilled labor, but those types of jobs are very specialized, limited in quantity, and are generally not desk jobs. Then there are some federal+state+local jobs that may have some somewhat lower requirements, private sector. There is also the armed forces. It depends on which way you want to go.