Retiring in June (age 56)

WestwardBound

Dryer sheet aficionado
I've been reading this board for a couple years and found lots of helpful information. I've been working with an FA for about 5 years and think I will fully takeover management by this time next year. He's been helpful in planning and evaluating what we've been doing for a long time and getting us to see the goal ahead and boosting investing.

I've got about 2.3m in tax-deferred, 600k taxable and a pension. I will get about 500k in various deferred comps over the next two years. My company offers retirees option to stay on group health plan after age 55 and enough service.

I have some different quirks as to how my assets work in the plan but the FAs retirement planning software (large financial institution) and the several online planners I've used typically give 90-95% success.

My wife and I still have one daughter to get through college in next few years which is covered by 529 savings. We will spend time looking at potential retirement locations out west (live in eastern city suburbs now) in small city near mountains. CO, MT, WY are places we'll start.

Thanks for reading and I'll be here asking questions and participating from now on.

Just wanted to say congratulations on your up coming retirement. That is a big deal in a persons life.
If I read the post correct you should have about 3.4M and not knowing your projected expenses you have a nice stash to work with.
Good Luck and you really have found a great place for all your questions.

If 3.4 million plus a pension is only giving you a 90-95% success rate, your annual spending must be super high! Congratulations on your achievements.

Congrats.Does sound like decently high budget, but nothing wrong with that.