5 months to go...

PageTwo

Recycles dryer sheets
Hey there!

Very glad to have found this forum. I've been lurking around for a couple of months already, learning a lot and enjoying the various discussions and viewpoints on retirement, both on finances and also about retired life in general. I have to say, I really like this community and the overall tone of all the discussions. This is a very civil and cordial corner of the internet, compared to other forums and communities I'm part of!

I'm turning 55 this year and will retire from Megacorp 2 months after my birthday - my target date is Sept 30th. I'll probably break it to my boss sometime in July so I can give him plenty of time to figure things out, and help him train other(s) to take over my role.

I've been saving aggressively for many years and semi-thinking of early retirement, however what I didn't do sooner was to seriously explore scenarios and feasibility. I only recently learned about Firecalc and other similar tools which, at this point, show me with a 100% rate of success. Part of me wishes I'd done it sooner, but I'm also proud of my career and I've certainly enjoyed it, so no regrets, really.

My savings, across taxable, pre-tax 401K and Roth 401K, are about 2.6 million. My house is not completely paid off yet but I recently refinanced taking advantage of the ridiculous early-pandemic interest rates, and lowered my payment to about $750 a month which fits very comfortably within my budget. The interest rate on my mortgage is 2.85%! No other debt.

Single, no kids. This certainly makes it a lot easier…. My heirs will be nieces/nephews and if the simulation tools have have it right and the markets cooperate, even in a conservative scenario they are bound to get a nice surprise when Uncle Scrooge finally kicks it!

Feel free to ask any questions. Looking forward to some good conversations with this community!