529 Owner transfer

camfused

Full time employment: Posting here.
Got a couple 529 plan questions for y'all. My wife is listed as the Participant (account owner). My daughter is listed as the beneficiary.

We would like to transfer the ownership from my wife to my daughter.

a) How do we do this?
b) Is there any tax implications to us or my daughter?

We called the administrator but they did not know the answer (to b).

Thanks

Can you explain the reason for the transfer? There way be a better way to achieve what you want to accomplish. I'm no tax expert, but I would think that possible tax implications would include 1) gift tax depending on the amount transferred and 2) determining the tax basis in the account for the new owner.

Can you explain the reason for the transfer? There way be a better way to achieve what you want to accomplish. I'm no tax expert, but I would think that possible tax implications would include 1) gift tax depending on the amount transferred and 2) determining the tax basis in the account for the new owner.

Agree that I'd like to understand the reason for the transfer. I don't know if there is a tax issue and but since the money in the account can only be used without penalty for the education of the beneficiary (your daughter), how does a change in ownership help or hurt her situation?

br

It’s money for my daughter’s education. She has been through undergrad and is now 25. We just want her to take it over and get out of the loop.

My parents funded accounts for our kids. They changed ownership to be in my name, with the kids remaining as beneficiaries. It did require some annoying steps with notaries, witnesses, registered mail, etc., but once it was done there were no tax consequences.

They used their financial advisor (ficuciary) to act as a go-between.

It’s money for my daughter’s education. She has been through undergrad and is now 25. We just want her to take it over and get out of the loop.