A Returning Canadian

trolleydriver

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone from Ontario, Canada. My previous posts on this forum were back in December of 2004. Since then I have lurked but have not posted.

Here is an excerpt from my first post in 2004 --- "Not sure I will ER since I am already 57, still working and still saving for retirement. I'm a self-employed consultant and have a current net worth around 1.1 million in Canadian funny money. That includes registered retirement plans and a mortgage free house. My wife does not work and the two kids are both married and doing OK. We have aging parents who so far have been managing for themselves."

My situation has changed since I made that post. Current net worth is about 1.5 million (including the house), no mortgage, no debts, two self-sufficient married children and two grandsons (18 months and 9 months). We do have some improvements/renovations (about 20 to 30K) to do on the house. Investments are about 60% fixed income and 40% equities. About 90% of all savings are in RRSPs with 10% in non-registered accounts.

As of the beginning of April of 2009 I have been out of work (no contracts for my consulting business). I will soon be 62 years old and am thinking I should just retire. Also trying to decide if I should start taking Canada Pension Plan early.

Any suggestions would be most welcome.

:greetings10:

Welcome from the frozen west.

I will soon be 62 years old and am thinking I should just retire.
Well, maybe, um, err
Sorry but I can't comment on that without knowing your expenses and what money is where. One ROT is that if you can live on 4% of investments, you should be OK. However, information is insufficient. If, for example, you have $1M in investmest and .5 in house, a lifestyle of $40 pretax would work. If you have $1.4M in investments and a $100K house then income would be higher. CPP and OAS would go on top.

Also trying to decide if I should start taking Canada Pension Plan early.