Best websites for hotel rooms

HadEnuff

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I used to use Priceline, but got burned once by a "4 Star" hotel that was pretty bad.
I've had decent luck with Hotels.com

DW and I are planning a few days in Savannah, GA, in April.

What strategies would you use to get the best room for the least money? Also, if you are familiar with Savannah (I am not) where would you recommend staying, both in terms of what area of the city, and specific hotels?

thanks,

I read that the thing to do is to use websites like Hotels.com to narrow your hotel choices. Then call the hotel(s) directly and tell them you want a great "deal". They often give you a deal as good or better than the robo-websites. And sometimes you can negotiate a better room.

Anyway I have no personal experience with this but reading it makes it seem somewhat plausible.

- Good luck - let us know how it turns out

I have used Travel Advisor along with the hotels own site for reviews. But for pricing I go to the hotels corporate site and put in flexible dates and AARP/Senor rates. I've done well.
Beware that Booking.com requires payment up front and its a hassle to get refunds. Learned that from a hotelier. Same goes for Holiday Inn corporate site. They quote low ball prices but to get then they require payment up front for the low price. If you want the ability to cancel until the last minute the price is higher.
With the issues associated with travel; planes,trains and auto's I rather be able my ability to cancel without charges.

We stayed at the Planter's Inn. It was an easy walk to all the attractions . It includes a continental breakfast & a wine & cheese reception.

I usually use Tripadvisor to picks the best hotel in a given location, then search booking sites as well as the hotel's site for the best deal.

Hotel sites often offer AAA rates at a good discount beating many other rates.