Blue Ridge Parkway & Shenandoah National Park - Mid October - Any Tip

Budatx

Dryer sheet aficionado
I am planning a 5/6 day trip through Blue Ridge Parkway & Shenandoah NP in mid-October. I'll start at Cherokee, NC and continue to around Harrisonburg, VA. I'm a travel/landscape photographer, so I'd like to hit as many scenic areas as possible. I'll stay in hotels and due to a restricted diet, I'll buy/pack food for the road. Depending on a restaurant's menu, I may splurge a bit.

Any travel tips, advice or recommendations will be appreciated. Thanks!!

It's a beautiful trip. I loved it but after a couple of hours my wife was bored and the kids were asking how much longer we had to go before the hotel :)

We traveled through Shenandoah national park, blue ridge parkway to Smokey mountains this past late May. Had a wonderful time.

We stayed in the skyland lodge in Shenandoah park.basic accommodations, the food at the restaurant was good and loved the location.

We enjoyed our visit to the Luray Caverns.

The views from the blue ridge parkway were great.

Had a nice lunch at outskirts of Roanoke in Hollywood Restaurant.

Fall there should be very beautiful!

Last edited:
Mt. Airy is a fun stop for an hour or two if you're in the area. It's Mayberry N.C. The Blue Ridge Parkway is a gorgeous drive with lots of scenic views, interesting detours and historic places en route. There are plenty of reasonably priced hotels along the way that are in cool, heritage buildings with beautiful gardens. You might want to get a AAA guide or similar that points out the key areas of interest along the way. The fall foliage will be amazing. Have fun!