Brake Control problems

Chris7

Recycles dryer sheets
DW and I are supposed to be leaving Thu for our 29th Wedding Anniversary. Taking our TT out for the first time by ourselves. We have a new Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 HD.

Truck came with a factor installed brake controller. Trailer is about 5-years old. We took trailer to local tire shop to make sure tires and breaks on trailer were good.

Truck keeps saying Trailer is disconnected. Trying to find someone to look at both connections, but may not have time. Would you believe between the regular Truck Brakes and Exhaust break we would be fine? Not driving up and over the hills, just along the coast.

cd :O)

I’m no expert, but I think it would depend on the weight of the trailer.

Personally, I’d do everything I could to get it working. That not working correctly would give me grief the entire trip.

What trailer are you pulling? Most state require [working] brakes on trailers over 3000 lbs gross. If you end up in an accident with known malfunctioning brakes on the trailer, if required, your insurance probably will not cover it, and you could be in a world of legal and financial troubles. And my guess would be in a new HD truck, that a plug into an OBDII would tell that it didn't have working brakes when you set off.

This being said, legalities aside, I wouldn't want to have to do emergency braking on a TT without brakes. It doesn't matter how good the brakes on the tow vehicle is, the trailer will do its own thing without brakes under heavy braking.

check connector pins on the truck for corrosion, also be sure plug is fully inserted. Some Deoxit spray on both trucck and trailer connector pins. If that does not work, likely wiring problem.

Also, to help diagnose the problem, you could ask your local RV dealer if they would let you connect to one of their RVs to rule out the truck being the issue (and being new, it probably isn't the issue). And before doing that, make sure to check the fuses on your truck.