Budget adjustments?

cat4ever

Recycles dryer sheets
Just curious how much and for what reasons (if any) folks adjust their budgets year to year. Do investment gains/loses affect your next year's budgeting, or do you stay the course figuring the market will even itself out in the end? I'm just getting started and am thinking it would be hard to not reward myself for a really good year, or cut back immediately if there's a significant drop. But, it's the market so that's to be expected and fluctuations shouldn't affect short term spending. Right?

I don't really budget, although I keep very close track of every penny I spend.

I allow myself a withdrawal rate of 3.5% based on the previous December 31st portfolio total. I withdraw that amount during the first week in January of each year and then don't withdraw anything else all year. For me, I think that's a sensible approach. This method would allow my spending to fluctuate with the market.

In reality I spend less than half of the allowed 3.5%, so I put the rest which is left over, back into my portfolio. I have come to the conclusion that after paying a certain amount for things like utilities and taxes, apparently I don't need or even want a whole lot more to be happy.

Just curious how much and for what reasons (if any) folks adjust their budgets year to year. Do investment gains/loses affect your next year's budgeting, or do you stay the course figuring the market will even itself out in the end? I'm just getting started and am thinking it would be hard to not reward myself for a really good year, or cut back immediately if there's a significant drop. But, it's the market so that's to be expected and fluctuations shouldn't affect short term spending. Right?

I track my spending every year, I don't budget.

The fluctuations in the market good year vs bad year combine to hopefully be in a general upwards direction.