Can't Wait for FI!

lust4adventure

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hi there! I'm a software engineer in my low 30's living in the NYC metro area (northern New Jersey, specifically). Just moved out here for a new job after I discovered the FI/RE movement and realized it was for me; however, I have a long way to go. I'm so glad I found this forum! I'd love to meet some like-minded people near me--sometimes I feel all alone in this city of glitz and people obsessed with spending most of what they have--but I'm happy there are others out there seeking financial independence.

Here are my deets:

Income:
Salary: 245,000 USD/yr
Bonus: 60,000 USD/yr (maximum)
Net CA home income: -5,000 USD/yr (estimated)
I lived in my California house but decided
to rent it once I moved out here.
It's cashflow-negative once I factor in
occasional repairs, vacancy, capex, etc.,
but should become cashflow-neutral in a
few years
after I raise rent a few times.
It'll bring in
12,000-15,000 USD/yr once
I pay off the mortgage.
Monthly Personal Expenses:
Room + utilities: 1,050 USD/mo
Transportation: 107 USD/mo
Discretionary: 600 USD/mo

Company pays health, dental, and life insurance

Assets:
Home Equity: 100,000 USD (maybe more)
401(k)s: 80,000 USD
. All US equity index funds
. Rolling over to IRA

Vanguard IRA: 129,000 USD
VFIAX 26%
VEMAX 17%
VBLTX 3%
VPADX 14%
VGSLX 14%
VSMAX 26%
Will soon simplify to something like:
VTSAX 55%
VTIAX 25%
VGSLX 10%
VBLTX 10%
Vanguard brokerage: 77,000 USD
VFIAX 19%
VBLTX 14%
BLV 2%
VGSLX 17%
VSMAX 17%
VTIAX 15%
VTSAX 16%
Liabilities: Mortgage only
Principal remaining: 320,000 USD
Interest rate: 4 %
Years remaining: 27 years
Monthly PITI payment: 2,050 USD/mo