Do you exercise your brain?

TwoByFour

Recycles dryer sheets
No, I don't mean take it for a walk. :)

The recent thread on LTC prompted this post. There have been some articles on how to stay mentally fit to possibly avoid decline of cognitive abilities and perhaps even prevent dementia.

I am curious if anyone else here tries to keep mentally fit? Do you believe it is effective?

My mental workout is crossword puzzles (NY Times Sunday and the LA Times Sunday puzzles) and Sudoku. I have noticed that it is taking me longer to do the puzzles which worries me a bit. I used to be a physicist and I like to work out the physics of things I read in the news, even doing the math.

Not sure if it will work but I figure it can't hurt.

Yes. I play bridge several times a week, partly in an effort to maintain mental acuity.

I do not know if it is effective. I think my short term memory and my puzzle solving skills have improved. Overall I think my memory has gotten worse over the past two years but it may be that my memory may have declined even more if I had not played bridge.

Like you, I figure it can't hurt.

You can exercise the CPU, but the RAM is still faulty and its data often corrupted.

My Dad was a crossword whiz, and stayed mentally sharp for his entire 88 years. I'm not as good (by a longshot) with them, but I try. Don't know if it will work or not...but I figure it can't hurt.

I do play Sudoku a lot (books and on line) and can usually finish all but the very hardest ones. I seldom work on crosswords since I never could spell worth a sh*t.

I'm not sure if playing Sudoku helps or not but I do enjoy the puzzles.

Last edited:
Yes, I do the Washington Post crosswords and various puzzles at BrainBashers - Puzzles and Brain Teasers