Faith in Bernake?

Andy R

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Site Team
Just like many other people, I have been trying decide which assets classes will perform well in the next few years. I was just reading this WSJ article, From Bear to Bull, and read this quote:
To the English economist Arthur C. Pigou is credited a bon mot that exactly frames the issue. "The error of optimism dies in the crisis, but in dying it gives birth to an error of pessimism. This new error is born not an infant, but a giant." So it is today. Paul A. Volcker, Warren Buffett, Ben S. Bernanke and economists too numerous to mention are on record talking down the recovery before it fairly gets started. They collectively paint the picture of an economy that got drunk, fell down a flight of stairs, broke a leg and deserves to be lying flat on its back in the hospital contemplating the wages of sin.
I am not a Bernake expert but I simply don't have much faith in the guy anymore. IMO he seems to flip flop a lot and his vision was to narrow to see the dangers that were brewing before the financial crisis hit. Here are some articles and quotes from the years leading up to the crisis:
October 2005 - Bernanke: There's No Housing Bubble to Go Bust

Many economists argue that house prices have risen too far too fast in many markets, forming a bubble that could rapidly collapse and trigger an economic downturn, as overinflated stock prices did at the turn of the century. Some analysts have warned that even a flattening of house prices might cause a slump -- posing the first serious challenge to whoever succeeds Fed Chairman Alan Greenspan after he steps down Jan. 31.

Bernanke's testimony suggests that he does not share such concerns, and that he believes the economy could weather a housing slowdown.