First management position, any advice?

kgtest

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Landed my first "official" management role within the IT sector. at a global 500 company ranked in the top 35... the definition of "megacorp".

I've lead teams on an unofficial basis, lead projects, programs and even strategy. I am a cub-scout leader and consider myself worthy of this, with a side of imposter syndrome. Some advice I have had was "stay away from the budget side", "just don't be the boss you always hated", and "you'll do great".

I will be doing more strategy, performance review, mentoring, program management mostly.

Curious if anyone has any solid words of wisdom.

I was an IT senior manager in high tech mega corp for many years. Depending on the position, you will have more or less a budget. One of the positions which I held for a couple of years within the megacorp, I had a $1B budget for capital purchases.

I do like the advice of not being the boss you always hated. Delegate and trust your staff. No one likes a micro-manager. But it is always a fine line - trust but verify. I HATED Focal/performance review period. It was always the most stressful time of the year and that's when I really wished I was an individual contributor.

Congrats and good luck!