Hello, 26 year old American expat teaching in Abu Dhabi, UAE!

MichaelB, that would be FANTASTIC if you have the time to post your results.

I'm a novice investor and this forum has been invaluable for me.

Thank you!

Will check out Boglehead wiki. Thanks for the advice, nun! Is there a different Vanguard fund that would be better than VWINX for taxable accounts?

Don't get me wrong, Wellesley is a good fund to have, it's just that it is 60% bonds and dividends from those are usually taxed as income. It's not really an issue if you are in a low tax bracket, but for someone making big bucks it's best to put bond investments in retirement accounts. It's basically tax efficient to keep stock index funds in your taxable accounts.

I like MichaelB's suggestions, but the bond fund is very different from Wellesley's bond portfolio. Understand what you are buying and why. If you want to keep things simple look at VTSMX. Beware of all the "shinny funds" out there. There is an infinite amount of duplication and variation that just serves to confuse investing when it should be a relatively simple thing. Understand what you are investing in and why you are doing it, DON'T just pick at random (I don't think you are doing that) or buy something because someone says to.

Take a look at MichaelB's suggestions and think about how you can combine the funds he suggests to make a tax efficient "Wellesley clone"...it's a simple matter of getting the proportions right.......crucially look at the difference in the bond investments between Wellesley and Intermediate tax exempt bond fund.

Update

Still here and still quietly investing 70% of my tax-free income.

Working overseas in the middle of nowhere can be a drag, but when I watch my savings and investments grow, I am reminded of why I am here.

thatgirlmjl said:
Still here and still quietly investing 70% of my tax-free income.