Hello: 27 yr old here

HatePayingTaxes

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello,

Just wanted to introduce myself to the group.  I'm 27 yrs old and hoping to retire by the time I'm 50.  At this point, it does seem possible but who knows what life can throw at you.  I'm a CPA and my wife is an engineer (26 yrs old) and our combined income is $140k/yr.  Here's our financial situation: 

$40k in Roth
$0 in 401k but will probably max out when I start my new job.
$20k in ING
$450k mortgage (live in So Cal) with house valued at $600k with average interest rate of 5.7%
Student loan and cc is $23k with average interest rate of little less than 3%.

It does seem possible to retire at 50 but my mortgage seems to be high and with possible kid and wife staying home for the kid and skyrocketing medical cost and all the future unknowns, who knows if that's possible.  I'm of the mindset that I'll work at least part time until my brain can't function.  My hope is retirement at 50 but I'm mentally preparing myself to work until I die.

Anyway, just wanted to say hello and that I love this board with similar minded people.

HatePayingTaxes,

I love paying taxes - it means I made some money. Don't let taxes influence your decisions.

Welcome, HPT. Is your rate on the mortgage locked? Definately something you want to consider.

dex said:
HatePayingTaxes,

I love paying taxes - it means I made some money.  Don't let taxes influence your decisions.
Hello HatePayingTaxes,

Welcome to the board. Looks like you and the wife are well on your way to setting up appropriate savings and investment accounts to get the FIRE ball rolling. It takes time and guts to stick to a plan. But in the end you will be far better off because of it. Starting as early as you are puts time and compounding on your side. Late starters like me had to do it much quicker and will less time to have the "pile" compound to levels you will see by the time you are 50.

Also,