Hello to all from MrTeight…..

Teight63

Confused about dryer sheets
This is my very first post as I am a 60 year old newbie to this really cool website.

I am entering what I believe to be my last year of work (I doubt I will make it thru the whole year.)

I started to manage my own finances, which at first was scary. However I found out fast the paid money managers seemed to make more money for themselves versus the client they serve.

On paper, my saving through a fair/modest return (average in the 7%-8%) would create a fairly comfortable lifestyle.

Looking for advice on a fairly simple methodology to make money inside investments (ex: 70/30 - 60/40 equities to bonds portfolio) that I will manage however will not have to constantly make changes. I know enough to get myself in trouble thus the reason for simplicity.

I had accomplished this inside Fidelity with a total market fund and CD’s however the CD run is coming to an end (5% plus days appear to be over)!

Open to all of your thoughts, ideas, advice. Ultimately it’s on me to manage, however if you respond and have some experience managing your retirement would love to hear/learn from those who are already at the location I am heading to.

Thank you all in advance!!

I think you are doing yourself a favor by managing this yourself. You already appear well positioned to do so.

Investing, like BigDawg elludes to with his simple 3 fund portfolio, doesn't need to be and shoukldn't be complex. Sure there are the few that options trade etc, but most on this forum are just like you. Stick around and you will learn a lot.

As long as your expenses don't outrun your investment returns, you should be fine. Firecalc will help you understand that. *It's a handy tool along with i-orp.com Optimal Retirenemt Planner

Thank you for the reply….Fire Cal tells me I am in very good shape….I just need confidence on the fund management.