Im sure this has been posted a million need advice.

farfromhome63

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello I'm Steve,

I just turned 26,

I am a systems analyst at a water district here in California. I just started this job and was with a hospital for a number of years. I always thought about retirement and was trying to contribute as much as I could afford.
Currently I have a 403b account with 7k and with the new career I have a pension that at age 55 I will have 75 percent of my highest years earnings. That is if I retire at 55. In 30 years. I most likely wont and will put it off at least 5-10 years so I will have more percentage when I get the pension.

My question is where should I go from here? I have a 457 available to me as well with the company. I don't know if they match any funds. I also could roll my 403 into a Roth IRA.. that sounds the most logical to me.

I don't really know how much to contribute.. I see some people going with 5 and 600 a month and that seems like a lot right now because of student loans etc.. I don't have a lot of debt and will be debt free very soon.

sorry for the novel I appreciate any advice.
Thanks -Steve

Greetings.

Just wanted to wish you well. I am presuming that you work for an affiliate of AWR which is a stock that I own. To have a professional job with a water utility in California is a pretty decent gig for the long term IMO so congrats. The fact that a pension awaits at the end of your professional journey is really the foundation for your retirement planning: The fact that you are an individual who is, nevertheless, still concerned about maximizing other retirement funding avenues is prob more valuable than trying to figure out what exact amounts to save for the time being.